What’s in a name…

Ok, today’s post is a) quick, and b) pretty late in the day, seeing as I operate on GMT (today was my grandfathers birthday, so I’ve been quite busy). It’s just a quick explanation for my URL, blog name and tagline. My URL first came about as a name I used to comment on fanfiction I liked (I know, cringe). I didn’t want to start an account on any of the various websites but it gave you an option of putting a name and email address so you could leave your comment effectively anonymously. I thought for a moment; I could always have used something like ‘fangirl2000’ but it would almost definitely be taken. So what could I use? Welshshortbread strikes me as a name that accurately reflects my nationality, height, and love of biscuits, and it stuck. As for my title, I’m fairly sure one of my old diaries was entitled ‘ramblings of a confused teenager’ (in the days when I thought I’d publish my diaries as memoirs- I was a very naive thirteen-year-old). In all honesty, the tag line is more of a disclaimer than anything else! It’s a reminder to me to make sure I don’t think of my ideas as groundbreaking philosophy when in fact every other person who has gone through adolescence has come to these ‘profound’ conclusions. Thank you for reading, and sorry if this is a little sloppy and last minute. Tomorrow will be a better day, I promise!

27 Comments Add yours

  1. Soloist says:

    Rambling is where I find myself the most. It’s a good way to figure stuff out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it’s a good way to figure out your though processes. I just feel sorry for the poor individual who has to listen to my ramblings!

      Like

  2. Like your name and really like your tag line. It’s only been day two and too am already trying to catch up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! It’s nice that we can go at our own pace here πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. No need to apologise to anyone. There really is no set timetable to finish our work here. That’s why it is an awesome class with real people here…..
    There is nothing wrong with this post. You got my attention.
    You are upfront about what you are posting and that can never be a bad thing. You just gained a follower and I hope you don’t mind an “old to you, ex teacher who needs to go back to school herself…..following you.
    I miss young people who have honest emotions.
    Have a good evening. Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much for your flattering feedback! And of course I’d love to have a follower who is experienced but humble too! You seem like a really down-to-earth person and I look forward to reading your content and your feedback!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sometimes TOO down to earth.
        You have a great rest of the week.

        Like

  4. Sonya says:

    Brilliant tag line – accurately sums up being a teenager. Well, actually, human being… or maybe it’s just me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I had hoped it would be something I’d grow out of, but maybe it will always be something I need to keep in check!

      Like

  5. Tracey Rains says:

    I love the picture!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! It’s got a story of it’s own, actually. It’s in an empty photo frame in a corridor of my school, and it struck me as quite odd, but weirdly funny. I cropped it to use as a header though πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Z. says:

    The title and tagline are as refreshingly honest as the post explaining them. Wonderfully written!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much!

      Like

  7. At first glance I was a bit confused by the name, but your post cleared it up for me! I like it! Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jordan πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Sasha Fierce says:

    I liked your explanation. I often ramble late at night on my iPhone when I’m up feeding my daughter, it’s not till the next day when I figure out whether I’ve struck gold or gone completely mad. It’s a old

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “Inspiration often strikes at the strangest times. Then again, so does idiocy!” I hope you’re not too sleep-deprived, bless you!

      Like

  9. kangopie says:

    lovely name! I love it. following your blog now (and i’m thinking about the biscuits I left at the office)

    #Blogging101

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! Thank you (and why leave biscuits in the office when you can smuggle them home??)

      Like

  10. koolitzable says:

    Better late than never..keep blogging πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love the name too. In fact, it caught my immediately on day one in the midst of all the other posts! Carry on fangirl! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Arpita says:

    Hi, I love how creative you got while choosing your blog name. I hope to interact with you in the future. You are the first Welsh person I have come across! Happy Blogging!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks very much! I look forward to interacting with you too, and reading your blog posts. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

