A conundrum of sorts…

Hi everyone, this will just be a short post because I’d like your opinion on something. Earlier this week I was talking to Sarahย about the regularity of posting blogposts. Now, I am just a teenager and have not yet grasped the concept of good time management, and I’m struggling a little to juggle life and blogging currently (I haven’t made a post since I came back from holiday). I had previously thought I would post around once every two weeks, but Sarah said she would like to see more of me. So I’d like to hear your take on things. This may be my blog, but YOU are my audience and ultimately the people who I would like to enjoy my content. How often do you feel I should post (obviously I’m not talking about blogging just for the hell of it if I have nothing to talk about, but generally speaking)? Please leave a comment down below with your thoughts.

Thanks so much!

El x

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Vibrant says:

    It depends a lot on your personal life. In my humble opinion if you have free time you can write a post every two three days. But if you are busy you can do it once every fortnight. I feel others who don’t have insights into your routines might not be able to suggest you perfectly well. I would love to see your posts everyday–but what if it affects your busy routine adversely–I won’t like that. This is my two cents ๐Ÿ™‚
    Anand

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much for your opinion and kind words! I think I will try and post as often as possible!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Vibrant says:

        Welcome Ellie ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The last thing you want is for your blog to become a burden! Post at a pace that’s manageable and relax! We’ll keep reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sonya says:

      I agree with that. There’s no point cranking out three posts per week if you don’t want to write that many โ€“ it’ll show.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Thanks for the advice! I do want my blog to stay organic and truthful, burst the same time sometimes I just need a push to sit down and write, and I’ll enjoy myself. It’s just getting in front of the computer I guess ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sonya says:

        If you need an incentive, pencil in time twice a week or so when you sit down and write. You don’t have to publish everything at once, and you may write posts that will live forever in your drafts, but you may also have some of your best ideas because you forced yourself to write.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with all of the other comments here and love that you’ve opened this up for discussion! I’m just starting out too and am trying to blog once a week to make this a normal part of my routine. I’ve had varied success so far because I’m easily distracted with cake/naps (and I’m not in my 80’s, just a champion procrastinator). Try and go with what works for you and keep this as something you enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. haha, I think everyone has a weakness for cake and naps! Thanks for the advice ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. You could have a “weekly special” on your blog just in case you can’t write about a random happening in your life. Although it doesn’t really matter, for me, if you only post once in a blue moon. You post, I read ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thank you for the feedback! I was pondering what my regular ‘thing’ could be… I think I’ll find something as I continue blogging!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Laura says:

    I read somewhere that the best frequency is ‘as often as you can without compromising on quality’, which I quite liked.

    I’d happily read a few posts a week from you but there’s no need to stress about posting more frequently if life gets a bit hectic! People (and yourself) are probably more likely to enjoy fewer well thought out posts than loads of rushed ones ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the advice! I know it’s a bite ich for me to complain when there are uni students and people with actual jobs taking up their time, which is why I need a schedule to stick to. At the same time, I don’t want it to become a chore

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Michelle says:

    Like everyone else said, it is really up to you. Sometimes life can get in the way of blogging and a lot of readers will understand. Usually a short post updating them on what’s happening will suffice so they’re not left in the dark.

    Sometimes I do 2-3 posts in a week other times I can go weeks without a post because other things take precedence over blogging.

    Don’t force yourself to write if you don’t feel like it. As long as you write quality posts that’s really all that matters ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the advice! I’ll try to keep people in the loop, even if I can’t write a proper post ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Bea dM says:

    hi I work full-time – actually often more, as I’m self-employed. I found setting a goal (every 7 – 10 days) and trying to meet it initially very challenging, but also that if I didn’t meet it, I’d start procrastinating about the next one. If “writing” in general is something you want to explore, you might want to make the effort to find some kind of writing “routine” or even …discipline (arrrgh). If really tight for time, reblog someone else’s post so you stay in touch with your readers ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the advice! I’m going to try and at least be active twice a week, even if I post nothing new ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

