Community Service

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Community Service.”

Your entire community — however you define that; your hometown, your neighborhood, your family, your colleagues — is guaranteed to read your blog tomorrow. Write the post you’d like them all to see.

Friends, Romans, countrymen, lend me your ears. Got your attention? Good. On with the show.

This post is addressed to a particular audience: people at my school. This is a conundrum of sorts, seeing as I hope that no-one I know, least of all anyone from my school, will ever find my blog. But this is all hypothetical, so let’s hypothesise.

Dear people at my school, please stop believing that I care what you think. I never really have, and I definitely never will. I’m fortunate enough to be weird, not care about fitting in, and have an incredible support network of amazing friends. I’m not your average nerd- where in other schools, kids like me float around in groups of two or three, here we all gravitated towards each other, creating a small army. I noticed that the bigger the group got, the quieter the sniggers.

image

Dear people at my school, I noticed how you are fine around me until Kittykat turns up, and then inexplicably you find it hard to be a decent human being. Why is that? Sure she’s a bit different, sure you’ve never liked her, but you know, you’re not all that great either, and I manage to put up with you most of the time. Grow up. This was fine when we were 11, but some of you are nearly 18 and you’re still behaving like idiots.

Dear people at my school, please stop spreading rumours that me and Kittykat are dating. It’s terribly unimaginative of you.

Dear people at my school, I hope you peak in high school. It’ll be funny to watch.

Dear girls who sat on the table next to me in year 11 and gossiped about me and my friends with my poor friend on your table, jokes on you. You all undermine each other. You all betray each other. You all belittle anyone and everyone to bolster your fragile egos. I hope you’re happy.

Dear other people at my school, thank you. Thanks for being at least less awful than people at other schools. Thanks for understanding exactly what I wanted- not necessarily a friend, just friendliness. Thanks for generally being accepting, cool people. I’m sorry that the minority of idiots are loud enough to take all of my attention. Drama family, I love y’all. You’re so cool. Thanks for being inclusive. I shouldn’t have to thank you for that, but I want to. Because it’s all I’ve ever wanted but never had. Dear friends, this should be a given, but you’re awesome. I’m honoured to have met such awesome people.

That’s all for now. Hopefully some of you will have matured over the summer. If not, thank god for A levels limiting my idiot intake. Also, hefty disclaimer, this doesn’t apply to a good 2/3 of you.

Bye!

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Vibrant says:

    Dear Ellie 🙂

    *** Steam Out***

    Feeling better?

    I would tell you ( approaching my 30th birthday )—when you would read this after 10 years you would laugh out loud. 🙂

    I also felt like this when I was your age because there is peer pressure, bullying, hormonal changes and much more 🙂

    Maybe you’re wiser and it won’t take you even 5 years to get all over this 🙂

    Most of the teens, introverted ones–think like you do 🙂
    Also: Want to take revenge 😛 Want to make them look down who bullied 😛
    We all want respect. Especially teenagers. 🙂
    Why am I telling you this? So that you feel a ‘bit’ better 🙂 That it all is soon going to pass 🙂 Very soon you would feel more respected, successful and peaceful as it all would pass.

    Sincerely,
    Anand

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the courage and support. I think it will be interesting to read this in years to come, to see if I see it differently then. As I have moved into the last few years of school, people have become more mature and it is a more positive environment, but this has made me forget how unpleasant the first few years were. It will all be over in a year! That makes me happy and sad :/

      Like

  2. lifelessons says:

    Well said. Hope you feel better now. I usually do my raving in the car, nobody in the passenger seat or back seat. By the time i’ve driven the 5 miles to town, I feel good and like I don’t even have to say it to the person it is intended for. You are clever and well-spoken. You’ll do fine! http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/08/17/step-by-step/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the support! And thank you for the praise 🙂 I am afraid this blog may become the place for my ravings 😂

      Like

      1. lifelessons says:

        This is the right place for them. So long as you aren’t raving about me, please!! Now how unfair is that?

        Like

  3. James says:

    I hated school when I was in school. And I grew up to be a teacher (and awesome blogger obviously…) But never in my life since leaving school have I spent a significant amount of time with a load of people who I have nothing in common with except my age. Cos no-one in their right mind would ever choose to do that out of choice…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha that’s very true! I’ve learnt recently that in school, most people feel like I do. On the outside, looking in. And those on the inside are subject to all kinds of drama and gossip and general cattiness that I would not like to involve myself with. (Also, why did you go back to school to teach if you hated it? Surely you have to put up with irritating brats who think they’re super clever by talking back to you…)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. James says:

        It’s weird isn’t it? But after a few years of doing other stuff it didn’t seem so bad. As a teacher I don’t mind the kids at all, there’s a bit of a distance between me and them and I’ve yet to meet a child who could actually outwit me (I have worked in some pretty rubbish schools truth be told). I always wish they could be a bit nicer to each other though. Generally it’s the other teachers I find difficult these days but I don’t actually have to spend time with them if I don’t want to…

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Ellie, If there’s one word of advice I would love to go back in time to give my teenage self, it’s this: this doesn’t last, it’ll be over the minute you graduate. You never have to see these people again. So do your thing, stick close to your friends, and remember it will all be over soon and you can get on with the good stuff! Oh, and all that good stuff Anand said way more eloquently than me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind words and advice! I am just glad that I’m not hugely preoccupied with what people think of me, I just try to do my own thing.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. rdmaxwell55 says:

    High school was happy and sad for me, fun and torture. I would tell my high school self: have fun, ignore the naysayers, and aim for the stars.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the advice! I’ll try and keep that in mind as I go into my last year.

      Like

  6. Sonya says:

    Ah, school. It never changes. Unfortunately, it only takes a small amount of idiots to make life miserable for a lot of people. Sounds to me you have the right perspective on it, though.

    Good use of the prompt, too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks very much! I try to keep these things in perspective, and I know that without my friends school would have been so much worse.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Bea dM says:

    so you got it off your chest, huh? Dr Sorick’s right, but anyway, as I see it, you’re an optimist, with hopes of “some of you will have matured over the holidays” 🙂
    Cheer up, I nominated you for the Liebster Award https://writingfrommy14thcountry.com 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hank you very much! I try to bear in mind that I haven’t had the worst time out of everyone in school- I haven’t been bullied, just mildly harassed in comparison to some of my friends! I also didn’t want to make this into a pity-party: no one likes a complainer, and as I said, it could be so much worse.

      Like

      1. Bea dM says:

        don’t worry, being insecure and nasty and insecure is unfortunately part of growing up for some kids! they’ll get over it 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

