Liebster award!

image

Hey everyone!

So I just finished writing my premio Dardos award post, and after a minor family diversion I come back to find not one,

not two,

but THREE nominations for the Liebster award! I’m so flattered and completely bowled away by just how loving and supportive this community is! Thank you all so much to Rashmi, Ingrid and Krstn for the nominations! These three women all have amazing blogs that you should definitely check out!

Here’s how it works:

Make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you.
Include the Liebster Award sticker in the post too.
Nominate 5 -10 other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award. Let them know they have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts. You can also nominate the person who nominated you.
Ensure all of these bloggers have less than 200 followers.
Answer the eleven questions asked to you by the person who nominated you, and make eleven questions of your own for your nominees or you may use the same questions.
Lastly, COPY these rules in your post.

Okay, so here are my answers to the questions on Mind and Life Matters:

  1. What is your dream vacation?- I would love to have a ‘drama world tour’, seeing all of the different kinds of theatre all over the world. If I could, I’d go to Bali, Australia, Russia, Cape Town, Broadway, and finishing up at London’s West End.
  2. Which is your all-time favorite book?- This is a really hard question, as I think each stage of your growth and development opens up a new literary style to you. I’d say my favourite book from childhood was ‘Journey to the River Sea’ by Eva Ibbotson. It’s a story about an orphan girl who travels to the Amazon. The location is exciting and exotic, the conspiracies are gripping, and even then the message about British colonialism and refusal of different cultures struck a chord with me, as well as the hypocrisy of ‘good breeding’.
  3. What’s your poison?- Pimms. My first alcoholic drink, my favourite, the one I convince all my friends to try. I have quite a sweet tooth, so it was originally the only thing I liked.
  4. If you could choose to change one thing about yourself, what would it be?- I think I would make myself handle rejection better. In the industry I’m going into, you’ve got to be tough as nails if you want to keep your spirit up. The other day, when I had got a B instead of an A in my drama practical, I ended up crying to my mum about it, which is just a bit pathetic.
  5. Blogging – Why?- I’ve always enjoyed writing, and when I was younger I thought I’d publish my diaries (which I now know is a terrible idea), so I was interested when I discovered blogging. I originally thought I’d start a blog at 16, but I never did. I was on the Daily Post when I saw the post about Blogging101, I thought ‘it’s now or never’. So I signed up, and it’s one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.
  6. If you knew that you had only 1 day left on earth and you could do anything you wanted, what would you do?- I’m not sure if this includes the laws of physics, because if it didn’t, I’d travel all over the world. Of course I couldn’t do that in a day. This is going to be super cheesy, but I think I’d spend the day with my family (all the extensions as well- grandparents, uncles, aunts, all fourteen of my cousins). And then I’d have a sleepover with all of my friends. We’d all just have one drink, so we’d be open and honest without having silly drunks. We’d sit out in the garden and look at the stars and talk about anything and everything.
  7. Who, according to you, is a Friend?- Haha, funny order of questions, guess who I was just talking about! A friend is…someone who can see you, as you are, and go “yep, this is the kind of person I want to associate myself with.” They are the family you choose, except in my opinion the best friends aren’t chosen. They are there through everything, and yet they are the least appreciated relationship in society. Above all, a friend is loyal.
  8. Favorite Pet – Dog or Cat?- Ooh. I’ve never had either. Kittykat will probably hate me for saying this, but both my parents had dogs who they loved. Also I’m slightly more allergic to cats.
  9. Your dream date would be with…?-….. No comment.
  10. What do you do just before sleeping at night?- I try to read a chapter of a book before I go to bed, but sometimes I don’t have time.
  11. Complete the sentence: “Love is….”- Love is…. unexpected, not necessarily in the shape you’d imagined it to be, and essentially, what we all strive for in some way, shape or form.

Okay, now for the questions asked on Ingrid on the Grid:

  1. What’s your favorite scent?- That’s a really difficult question. If I made a vial of amortentia, I suspect it would smell of melted chocolate, the sea, or a woodfire.
  2. What was the most valuable thing you bought online?- In terms of currency, the most expensive thing I’ve ever personally bought was a dress from America, about three years ago. It wasn’t an expensive dress, but the postage was extortionate. I really loved that dress, and brought it with me on a school trip to Berlin, which was my favourite school trip to date.
  3. What was the last book you read? Why did you read it?- The last book I read was the Diary of Anne Frank, because one of my audition monologues for drama school is taken from the 1959 production of the same name. I’d read it before, at age 11, when I hadn’t really absorbed it. Reading it again was really gratifying, and I think I could have done with reading it at 14. She’s a lot more intelligent than I was at 14, but she did have a lot of time on her hands. It also made me realise how much we romanticise her. Everyone paints her as this perfect angel, but she was ultimately a depressed, bisexual teenage girl who sometimes wrote horrible things about her parents and other residents of the Annexe. However, she was an extraordinary writer and amazingly brave and kind-hearted, to keep her faith and ideals in a time when everyone was abandoning theirs.
  4. What is one thing you’ve always wanted to do, but haven’t had the chance to do yet?- Have a speaking role on TV. I haven’t been on TV full stop yet, but I’d love a chance to act in front of camera. Aside from that, I’d say visit Bali and watch Balinese theatre.
  5. Do you have any lucky items or traditions?- Before any horribly nerve-wracking thing, I always listen to a few particular tracks on YouTube- Kill Your Heroes by AWOLNATION (simply for the lyric ‘Never let your fear decide your fate’ which is my life motto), Move by I Fight Dragons, Hero by I Fight Dragons, Smile by Mikky Ekko (I know the lyrics are a little morbid but it really calms me down for some reason), Shake it Off by Taylor Swift, Young Volcanoes by Fall Out Boy, and Centuries by Fall Out Boy. i have a very eclectic music taste okay! I also say to myself “Can’t sing, can’t act, can dance a little’ (according to myth, this comment was made about Fred Astaire)!
  6.  Favorite movie quote (or book quote, if you want).- I’ll do both in one! “You’re braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.”- AA Milne, Winnie the Pooh. I’ve thought of another- “Everything will be alright in the end, and if it is not alright, then it is not the end.”- The best exotic marigold hotel
  7. If you could invent something, what would you invent?- I’d invent some kind of anti-procrastination tool, or maybe something that makes you work faster and more efficiently. I’m hard-working, but when I don’t want to work, I can’t. it would help me out loads!

Finally, here were the questions posted on Beauty Marks:

  1. Tell me about your fondest childhood memory.- I’m not sure if it’s my fondest. but one of my favourite memories is when I found out I had got the part for the main character of a voice over I auditioned for. We were driving home from somewhere, and my dad asked little ten-year-old me “How do you feel?” “Gobsmacked!”
  2. What is your favorite holiday and why?- In terms of place, I went to South Africa for three weeks. That was my only time out of Europe and it was amazing. In terms of school holiday, Christmas. Although I love the summer for it’s length and the fact I can do stuff with my friends in the sun, the routine of Christmas is so comforting- I have had the same Christmas Day timetable all my life, and it’ll be weird when I can’t do that anymore.
  3. What prompted you start blogging? What made you continue blogging?- I answered the first half earlier in this post, but I intend to continue blogging because of the amazing feedback and support I’ve had from the community! Thank you all!
  4. If you could visit anywhere, at no expense, where would you go and why?- Probably somewhere kind of dangerous that i wouldn’t normally because of expense and risk, like Borneo, or the Amazon rainforest, or the Arctic.
  5. How would you spend your ideal day?- In a rehearsal, or filming/recording during the day, and a party with my friends in the evening.
  6. When you’re feeling down, what’s the best way to cheer you up?- Dancing around in my room, probably to Mika.
  7. Are you content with the way your life is right now? If not, what changes are you making?- I’m fairly content with my life. I’m trying to be more assertive with people who try to push me around, and I’m trying to have more self-belief (because if I go into drama doubting myself, I do badly, and then it’s a vicious cycle). I also want more work experience, so I’m getting headshots and setting up a Spotlight account.
  8. What is your definition of ‘bliss’?- The feeling of warmth that covers you like a blanket when you know, no matter what, everything will be okay.

My nominees are:

My questions are:

  1. What is your favourite ice-cream flavour?
  2. Would you rather live in the city or the country?
  3. If you could study anything for free, what would you study?
  4. What’s the most-listened to song on your iPod/music device?
  5. Why did you start blogging?
  6. Where do you see yourself in five years time?
  7. What is your Achilles heel?
  8. What’s your favourite film?
  9. If you could change one thing about your appearance, what would it be?
  10. Is there a film you’ve been meaning to see, or a book you’ve been meaning to read?
  11. What’s the future you envision for your blog?

That’s all for now. Happy blogging!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. koolitzable says:

    Kudos for the award!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Congratulations! I can see why you got it! Your blog is very nice 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

