FF: Blogspiration- a backpacker’s diary

Hi everyone! Today is Friday, and as such it is time for my first Feature Friday! This week’s feature is ‘Blogspiration’, where I talk about a blog I’m inspired by, and write a ‘response’ to a post of theirs.

Today’s inspiration comes from Christian Dequita’s blog, A Backpacker’s Diary. Chris documents his backpacking adventures with beautiful photos and inspiring and insightful commentary and prose. The post that I drew particular inspiration from, though, was his recent post about his grandmother, Lady Violet. I could see the way he wrote about her that he thinks very highly of her, and loves her deeply. With this in mind, I decided to write a piece about my own grandmother.

My grandma comes from the small Spanish village of Ronda. My family have humble beginnings, which I looked down on when I heard the exciting tales of my friends’ rich heritage. Now I see how stupid I was, as the perseverance and work ethic of my grandfather has been passed down to me, and I hope that my origins remind me to stay humble and to always work hard to achieve my best in life.

My grandmother first met my granddad when he went on holiday to Spain (a luxury back then). He was a young man from a small mining valley in New Tredegar starting a career in law, she a bellboy in the hotel he was staying in, when they fell in love. He came home, learnt Spanish in three months, travelled back to Spain and asked her to marry him. I tell my friends this story every opportunity I get, because I simply can’t imagine anything more adorable or romantic.

my aba
left: a photo of my aba when she was young right: aba on her wedding day

When I was born, they decided they should be referred to as Grandad and Abuella (Spanish for grandma), but as a child I could only say ‘Aba’ and it stuck. There’s a bit of disparity in the spelling of it: me and my younger sister spell it ‘Aba’, but my grandad spells it as ‘Abba’ (like the band).

We all tease my Aba for being a bit mad. It’s a mix of a culture clash and hereditary nuttiness (my mother is starting to be like her, so I’m worried for what I’m going to be like!). Some phrases have become family jokes. For example, my mum didn’t realise ‘aubergine’ (eggplant for all you Americans reading) was not pronounced ‘over-gene’ until she was corrected in university (explanation: b is pronounced like a v in Spanish); I once told Aba she was mad as a hatter, to which she replied ‘mad as a hat’; and, of course, her insistence that you shouldn’t put cheese in mice traps because ‘I don’t want to give the cheese to them!’

My Aba never really had what you’d call an education, which I didn’t really understand when I was younger. She grew up during the Spanish Civil War, which she doesn’t talk about, so for me a lot of her early life is shrouded in mystery. These things remind me how thankful I am of the democracy I live in, and the free education system in place. Both need a lot of improving, but I should be grateful they even exist!

Well Aba, you once told me I should write a book on you, and your life has been rich and exciting enough that I could! Unfortunately, I do not have the time or the talent to do it justice. I hope a blog post will do for now πŸ™‚

(Please don’t redistribute my photos or use them as they are personal photos.)

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank you so much;-) I am so flattered. You had an inspiring story with grandma too;-) She is a beautiful and lovely lady;-)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just read your post and was so touched by what I read I had to write a response. What would we do without our families?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you as well😊😊😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Bea dM says:

    hey girl, this is good! you’ve come back with an excellent idea – getting inspiration from another blog- indeed, will browse it asap. And your Aba story is lovely and well-written. Also glad to see you’re one of us multiculturals! something tells me you’ll write the book one day, talent’s not your problem. And you’ve mirrored my own ideas about doing something with my grandmother stories too! delighted to follow you πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Really delighted to hear from you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Bea dM says:

    P.S. thanks lots for leading me to another excellent blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gradmama2011 says:

    your abuela sounds delightful, I think I would like her. Your writing is interesting and smooth. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Vibrant says:

    Though Aba is so beautiful, I will not redistribute the photos πŸ™‚ I promise πŸ˜‰

    You know ‘Abba’ also means ‘father’ in Urdu language?

    I liked reading about your grandmother. Very interesting article.

    Great feature, keep it up.

    Love and light ❀

    Anand πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

