FF: Friday’s Questions and Answers (FQA)

Hey everyone! I’d like to make a bit of an adjustment to my update schedule- Fridays will be a definite upload but Wednesdays will be slightly more infrequent. I get busier midweek than I’d anticipated. Perhaps it would be more appropriate to say I’ll be posting on Wednesdays and Fridays, instead of every Wednesday and Friday. Anyway, now that’s done, onto today’s post- my first FQA! You guys have submitted some great questions, thank you so much for the response!

Anand asks, “which type of questions you will be comfortable with?”

Any! Seriously, feel free to ask me anything πŸ™‚ I’m pretty much an open book, and if I’m not comfortable with the question then I just won’t answer it.

Sonya asks, “What’s the best book you’ve read so far this year?”

Hmm. That’s a difficult question. I think it’s a tie between Margaret Atwood’s “The Handmaid’s Tale” and Sylvia Plath’s “The Bell Jar”; funnily enough, I was reading both of them for my English class. Last year, our coursework (I’m not sure how to describe this to non-UK people but it’s work you do in class, normally an essay, that you don’t have to do in exam conditions and normally makes up anywhere between 20-40% of your final grade) was to write a short story in the style of a chosen novel, and I chose The Handmaid’s Tale. It was the second time I’d read it, as I read it when I was younger so I knew I’d enjoy it. This year, the coursework is to write an essay on any three pieces of literature from different periods or genres. I’ve chosen The Bell Jar as one of my pieces, and it is such a good read. It’s very feminist which warmed me to it immediately. It’s a really good depiction of depression, particularly of someone suffering with depression in the sixties. As it is from the sixties and was written by a white woman it doesn’t paint the full picture of suffering with depression, and is fairly racist at one point. That point did make me fairly uncomfortable as it was so unnecessary, but given the time to contextualise it I could forgive that, as overall it was an excellent read.

Debbie L asks, “What is the most confusing issue you are dealing with today (or pick a day)?”

This is a really interesting question! And a difficult one too… I’d say I majorly struggle with the idea of working too hard or not hard enough. There are many conflicting opinions on work ethic that just leave me a little dizzy, to be honest. Like, take Superwoman (the YouTuber, not the fictional character). She never stops working, and she has immense success (her film is coming out at some point in the near future). But whenever she makes a video, she’s ill, or spotty, or just very tired. She says none of this matters because someone will always work harder than you so you can’t ever stop. But then Ed Sheeran says, “success is nothing if you have no-one left to share it with.” I find it really hard to gauge whether I’m spending enough time on my future, my present, my family, my friends, myself…. I find that quite confusing.

Amanda M asks, “How do you want to be once you become an adult?”

As a seventeen-year-old, I already feel like an adult really. Over the past year I’ve seen a massive change in my attitude and way of thinking. However, I can hear the collective hysterical laughter from the actual adults reading this right now as you probably think 17 is crazy young. So, I will say that these aims are more aimed at my 21 year old self, instead of the 18 year old me who will technically be an adult as she won’t be too different from me now. At 21, I want to be relentlessly driven and hard-working. I hope I haven’t given up on the dream. I hope I don’t get too critical of myself. I hope I’m still friends with Kittykat. I want to be able to stand up to and not always seek the approval of people who don’t care about me, or even put me down. I hope that I’m stronger physically too. Sounds like a weird one, but I want to get fitter and it hasn’t happened yet.

Dr Meg Sorick asks, “You’re an aspiring actress, whose career would you like to emulate?”

All the great older British actresses have had amazing careers, for example Judi Dench, Maggie Smith, Julie Walters, etc. However, I’d quite like my career to be a unique one, and so not follow anyone’s career path. We’re really lucky in this day and age to have the internet, which I’m convinced will help me to at least do some projects in my spare time, even if I can’t make it into a career.

Thank you all for your great questions! If you haven’t seen any of these people before, go and check them out! They’re a lovely bunch πŸ™‚

What about you? What are some of your favourite books? What’s the biggest challenge you face right now? What are your hopes for the future, either personally or in terms of career? Tell me down in the comments, or make a post in response to this one if you have lots to say!

I’m definitely making this into a semi-regular thing, so if you have any questions you’d like to ask me for next time, pop them down in the comments section! I’d love to hear from you.

Til next time!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Sonya says:

    Ellie, I think this is a great feature. I’ll have to think of another question, but I’m a bit too tired right now…

    Lovely choices of books, I bet you’re glad to hear that I approve ;). The best book I’ve read this year by miles is “The Girl With All the Gifts”. I loved everything about it: the idea behind and execution of the story, the characters, the ending. It doesn’t happen often anymore that a book blows me away on all levels, but this one did.

    Oh, and I think you have to take breaks, you can’t just keep working like a maniac. If you do that, you’ll burn out. Working hard and taking time to recharge the batteries aren’t mutually exclusive, in my opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the feedback and the recommendation! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Bea dM says:

    I agree with Sonya, slow down a bit, being driven is fantastic but watch for burnout! I’m one of those “actual adults” who thinks 17 is …. young πŸ™‚ not crazy young from how you reflect and express yourself, but young anyway. How about backtracking to posting just once a week, and use the extra time to work on being physically stronger (your target?) with some kind of non stressful exercise routine?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a good idea! Perhaps I should dedicate my Wednesday nights to getting fitter πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Vibrant says:

    Hello Ellie πŸ™‚

    I also asked a question which it seems you have omitted. Maybe I didn’t get the notification. I enjoyed reading these. Will it be possible for you to transcribe your essay some day?

    Have a lovely weekend.

    Anand πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! I didn’t see any question in the comments, maybe there is a system issue. I’ll see if I can find it now and update the post. Really sorry!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Vibrant says:

        Not a problem, Ellie πŸ™‚

        I asked “which type of questions you will be comfortable with?”

        So that i could have asked you something. No worries.
        Have a lovely Sunday!

        Love and light ❀
        Anand πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. koolitzable says:

    Nice post Ellie πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

