Polite society

Hi guys, sorry for the super-long hiatus, life has been hectic to say the least. In fact, right now I was going to do some work. However, events have unfolded to make my environment incompatible with work.

A month or two ago, my new neighbours moved in. Now, I’m not a judgemental person, and I haven’t actually met them yet, but there is one thing that has consistently annoyed me ever since they moved in.

The noise.

Now, let’s not mince words here. I am a teenager. I like loud music. I like garden parties. In fact, my old neighbours had a girl about my age but also had a daughter a few years older, and I spent my childhood trying to get to sleep with the sounds of the bustle of a late-night teenage party drifting through the double glazing of my window. As a child, I didn’t understand (I thought they were going to bed super-late for a start), but as soon as I went to a party that was a tenth of the size of what I was used to overhearing I instantly understood. Music is an amazing form of expression that most humans connect with in a way that no other species does. Teenagers often find solace in it as it articulates intense emotions in a way that they are finding difficult to navigate. I understand that this also doesn’t just apply to teenagers. I understand that everyone is entitled to blast their music out loud and clear, it’s a free country.

But this is another level.

They’re a fairly young couple (we are one of the ‘old families’ on my street and once me and my younger sister leave for uni, my mum and dad will probably move like my boyfriend’s family and my old neighbours have) with young kids. And young kids- especially young boys- are going to make a lot of noise. I get that. But today is one of the boy’s birthdays and there’s a bouncy castle. So far, so acceptable. However, they are also blasting music so loud that, as I sit on the other side of the house with the windows closed, it’s still disruptively loud. Even with my headphones loudly and obnoxiously playing MCR into my ears- the most abrasive sound that I can think of that still allows me to concentrate- whenever a song ends I can hear the music. Also, I swear there’s a DJ or something with a megaphone. A megaphone. You’re catering for kids, aka the age range that has the best hearig out of all 0f us, not the elderly with failing eardrums!

Now, of course, there’s no point complaining about something if you aren’t going to try and solve your problem. So what am I going to do? March up to their door and ask them to turn it down as I’m trying to study for my A levels?

Of course not. I’m British, I’m far too repressed for any of that.

They probably wouldn’t hear their doorbell anyway.

No, I’ll deal with this in my very British way- do nothing, and write a blogpost about it.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Bea dM says:

    Indeed, how very British! Italians wouldn’t do anything, but that would be because they don’t notice noise anyway. At the other extreme, if you were Swiss you’d simply phone the police without a second thought 🙂 they’re very very uptight there about people making noise…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! It’s so interesting hearing about how different cultures reacting to different things. Only when I compare my standards to other countries do I realise how much of a walking stereotype I can be! I expect you have a broader understanding of cultural differences than mosst 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Bea dM says:

        but it’s just ’cause I have a head start on you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. That must be extremely loud! We don’t have that much where I live in the states. People call the police for that sort of thing here. Hopefully the party settles down soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We don’t either, normally. I live in the suburbs (which are admittedly more cramped than the sprawling American type) so people are all very polite and try to keep noise to a kind of a minimum. I am aware of how much noise I make if we ever migrate into a garden during a party, but it’s just so excessive. I can hear the music over my headphones and that’s quite an impressive feat!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes. No one should hear music over headphones. That’s just ridiculous. How’s studying going?

        Like

  3. maddy says:

    My neighbors have no idea how loud their music is. When it gets really bad & I can’t hear my TV, I reach boiling point and knock on their door, but often they can’t even hear the doorbell.
    I am British too I guess, (well I’m English, that’s sort of British) I never realized that was why I’m reluctant to complain. I thought it was because I’m scared of getting beaten up lol!!!
    I hear that in Switzerland, you can’t flush your toilet after 10pm if you live in an apartment….Not sure if that’s true…

    Like

  4. Nadine says:

    I will tell you to go and speak to them about this problem, but I’m sure you will not receive a positive feedback.

    Like

Leave a Reply

