Life update, anyone?

So, it’s been a while since I’ve actually talked about my life on here, what I’m getting up to and such. I thought I’d just give you a quick rundown of what I’m up to at the moment.

This is what I currently look like:

IMG_3156

Right now, I’m on holiday for another week until I go back to university. Being at home has been really rewarding and relaxing: I’ve spent most of the time chilling with my parents, watching a lot of tv, and catching up with all the little subgroups of friends who’re normally scattered all over the country.

As you’ll know if you read my previous post, I am also learning to be properly single for the first time in… 19 months? I sort of hopped from my first, not very serious and short lived relationship straight into my second, more serious ‘ride or die’ style relationship which lasted just over a year. My friends and family have been so supportive and there for me, and if you’re reading this and belong to either of those categories I’d like to take a moment to say thank you, so much. I’ve been keeping myself busy when I don’t have plans too: I’m slowly learning to play guitar and I’ve been reading a lot, and sketching. I still spend way too much time mulling over everything, reminiscing, and wondering what I could have done differently to prevent this from happening. But I think that I’ve got to accept that that’s going to be the case for a very long time and just keep on doing my thing.

IMG_2404

On Sunday night, I will be going back to university- that is, for those of you who don’t know, the University of Exeter, which I haven’t really spoken about on here! Exeter is amazing, it really is. It’s not a city, I don’t care what people say, and entitled rich kids are the worst kind of students to be around, but even these detriments haven’t stopped me from having such an amazing time. What is really good about uni is the creative opportunities it brings. In the past six months, I have acted in a radio series, performed in a coffee shop, put on a play in 48 hours, competed in a poetry slam- and those were just extra-curricular activities!!

IMG_2528

My course itself is incredible. In theory in first term, we learnt about the various different modes of analysing theatre. But the practical half of my course is what I really fell in love with. We were taught by a crazy Russian woman called Olya who is genuinely one of my favourite people in the world. And even though the course isn’t really naturalism in any way, I enjoyed myself so much.

IMG_1818.JPG

I’ve sorted out a place to live, and I’m so excited to live with people who actually appreciate me and include me, unlike the majority of my current flatmates. I honestly can’t wait. My friendship group has chopped and changed over the course of my first year at uni, but I feel like I’ve found a really lovely set of people who I can depend on.

As for next term, my academic year is over, so I only have a few essays to do. However, I will be spending next term doing some very exciting projects, which I will probably be posting about on here. I’m performing in two shows, a short film, and I will hopefully be making a few short films of my own to put on YouTube!! To counter the difficult process of getting over my relationship, I’m spending as much time on creative endeavours as possible, and I’m genuinely really excited for the next few months.

…That’s about everything, I think. Till the next time!!

El x

Leave a Reply

