Long time, no see!! (Life update and very mini review)

Hi everyone!

I have (as per) been on a bit of a hiatus because life got in the way, but in the best way. I got a job!! You heard right- someone actually thought I was competent enough and that my skills were worth exchanging money for!! This might not seem like much to many of you, but considering the difficulty I’ve had getting a job in the last couple of years (due to my glaring lack of retail, hospitality, or bar experience), it’s come as such a relief to me. Plus, without going into details, it’s without a doubt going to be the most fun summer job I will ever have, EVER.

Now, for obvious legal reasons I can’t actually say WHERE I’m working, but I can talk about it in a vague and slightly infuriating way! My role is partly hospitality, but I also get to act. And I get paid?! How did this happen??

The people are absolutely lovely. Even though I had the usual anxieties (do these guys like me? Do they think I’m a nice person or an immature asshole? Am I good to work with? Aghhh), I’ve never felt so immediately accepted by a group of people. I’ve been there for about a month now, and although they all have a rapport that goes back years that I couldn’t begin to tap into, I do feel like I belong there. That doesn’t stop the weird nervousness I get every morning, but I doubt anything would be able to alleviate that. They have decided that, since ‘Ellie W’ is too difficult to say over the radio, that instead I should be called ‘War Ellie’. Apparently they were worried that I would be offended- they hadn’t figured out how violent I could be at that point, and how much that name fitted (they soon learnt).

By far the best bit of the job is the acting. It’s exhausting, but getting to dress up for a nine to five job is everything I wanted from a ‘day job’, and even though I end up sweating buckets every day, there’s honestly nowhere I’d rather be.

In other news, I met Carrie Hope Fletcher!!! She is one of my favourite YouTubers and actors and was every bit as lovely in person as she seems on YouTube! I also didn’t embarrass myself majorly, which is a first for me- I will have to make a whole other post about me meeting famous people because it’s rarely dignified.

I met her at the stage door for the Addams Family, which was amazing! I was a little skeptical at first- film or tv adaptations often have an overly simplistic plot and uninventive songs, but I thoroughly enjoyed it!! My only complaint would have been the opening number. I discussed this with my sister, who went to see the matinee show the same day, and she had the same complaint: it wasn’t incredibly energetic. Maybe it’s the pace of the song itself, but it hardly had the energy that an opening number merits. Apart from that, it was a stunning performance. Even though the plot isn’t groundbreaking, it was funny and had some great moments. The costumes were wonderful, especially the chorus’s- they all had their individual flair and character which I thought really added to the whole mise-en-scène. The special effects were incredible and the precision timing and choreography which cued and responded to the lighting and sound was really impressive. Finally, the actual talent of the cast was impressive. I hadn’t pegged Samantha Womack as a musical actor, but she was an absolute powerhouse, and when Dickon Gough (playing Lurch) came out with quite possibly the lowest note I have ever heard, I was genuinely stunned. Of course, Carrie was sensational- I will forever be envious of her vocal range!!

That’s about everything for now, but I have plenty of ideas on what to write about, so I will hopefully be back soon!

Ciao! El x

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

